*Some artists represented in Canada Only
hide roster

Toggle Billions Roster

Today's Shows

  • Tue Mar 20, 2018 - Kansas City MORiot Room
  • Thu Mar 22, 2018 - Denver COLarimer Lounge with Whitacre
  • Fri Mar 23, 2018 - Boulder COBoulder Theater with Lil Smokies
  • Sun Mar 25, 2018 - Tempe AZInnings Festival
  • Tue Apr 03, 2018 - San Francisco CACafe du Nord
  • Fri Apr 06, 2018 - Portland ORDoug Fir Lounge with Fort Atlantic
  • Sat Apr 07, 2018 - Vancouver BCFox Cabaret
  • Sun Apr 08, 2018 - Seattle WATractor Tavern
  • Tue Apr 10, 2018 - Boise IDThe Olympic Venue with Pure Ivy
  • Thu Apr 12, 2018 - Sacramento CAHoly Diver
  • Fri Apr 20, 2018 - Charleston SCCharleston Music Hall with Anderson East
  • Sat Apr 21, 2018 - Charlotte NCThe Underground - Fillmore Charlotte with Anderson East
  • Sun Apr 22, 2018 - Raleigh NCLincoln Theatre with Anderson East
  • Tue Apr 24, 2018 - Charlottesville VAJefferson Theater with Anderson East
  • Thu Apr 26, 2018 - Macon GAHargray Capitol Theatre with Anderson East
  • Fri Apr 27, 2018 - Knoxville TNBijou Theatre with Anderson East
  • Sat Apr 28, 2018 - Chattanooga TNRevelry Room with Anderson East
  • Tue May 01, 2018 - Toronto ONVelvet Underground
  • Thu May 03, 2018 - Brooklyn NYRough Trade NYC with Maybird
  • Fri May 04, 2018 - Washington DCRock & Roll Hotel with Future Generations
  • Sun May 06, 2018 - Atlanta GAShaky Knees Music Fest
  • Mon May 07, 2018 - Nashville TNThe High Watt
  • Tue May 08, 2018 - St. Louis MOBlueberry Hill Duck Room with Wilderado
  • Thu May 10, 2018 - Minneapolis MN7th St. Entry
  • Fri May 11, 2018 - Chicago ILHideout
  • Sat May 12, 2018 - Chicago ILHideout
  • Mon May 14, 2018 - Columbus OHAce of Cups with Mo Lowda
  • Tue May 15, 2018 - Millvale PAThe Funhouse at Mr. Smalls with Mo Lowda
  • Fri May 18, 2018 - Harrisburg PASunoco Theatre with Future Generations
  • Sat May 19, 2018 - Philadelphia PAThe Foundry at The Fillmore with Future Generations
  • Tue May 22, 2018 - San Diego CASDSU Open Air Theatre with The Head and the Heart, Grouplove
  • Wed May 23, 2018 - Santa Ana CAThe Observatory with The Head and the Heart, Grouplove
  • Thu May 24, 2018 - Pomona CAFox Theater with The Head and the Heart, Grouplove
  • Sun May 27, 2018 - Napa Valley CABottleRock Music Festival
  • Tue Jun 12, 2018 - Allston MAGreat Scott with Morningbird
  • Wed Jun 13, 2018 - Albany NYThe Hollow
  • Thu Jun 14, 2018 - Burlington VTArtsRiot
  • Fri Jun 15, 2018 - Syracuse NYThe Lost Horizon
  • Sat Jun 16, 2018 - Hamilton ONLiquid Art Festival
  • Mon Jun 18, 2018 - Indianapolis INThe HI-FI
  • Tue Jun 19, 2018 - Cincinnati OHThe Woodward Theater
  • Wed Jun 20, 2018 - Lexington KYThe Burl
  • Thu Jun 21, 2018 - Rothbury MIElectric Forest
  • Fri Jun 22, 2018 - Rothbury MIElectric Forest
  • Sat Jun 23, 2018 - Rothbury MIElectric Forest
  • Sat Jun 23, 2018 - Cleveland OHBeachland Tavern
  • Sun Jun 24, 2018 - Rothbury MIElectric Forest
  • Mon Jun 25, 2018 - Asheville NCGrey Eagle
  • Thu Jun 28, 2018 - Rothbury MIElectric Forest
  • Fri Jun 29, 2018 - Rothbury MIElectric Forest
  • Sat Jun 30, 2018 - Rothbury MIElectric Forest
  • Sun Jul 01, 2018 - Rothbury MIElectric Forest
  • Sat Jul 07, 2018 - Quincy CAHigh Sierra Music Festival
  • Sun Jul 08, 2018 - Quincy CAHigh Sierra Music Festival
  • Sun Jul 15, 2018 - Alta WYTarghee Fest
  • Sat Jul 28, 2018 - Camden NJXPoNential Music Festival
  • Sun Jul 29, 2018 - Camden NJXPoNential Music Festival
  • Tue Sep 18, 2018 - Brooklyn NYMusic Hall of Williamsburg

Mt. Joy

Related Media

Artist Biography

"These dreams are more than paper things," sings Matt Quinn on Mt. Joy's infectious folk-rocker "Astrovan," a warm, yearning bit of road-trip philosophy that posits the existence of a Deadhead Jesus cruising the dusty highways of the countryside, nursing a roach on his way to only He knows where. It's an auspicious line from a band predicated on the revival of teenage dreams.

Mt. Joy started off as a rekindling of shared musical ambitions between Philadelphia high school friends Matt Quinn (vocals, guitar) and Sam Cooper (guitar). Reunited in Los Angeles thanks to the ebbs and flows of adult life, the pair met multi-instrumentalist Michael Byrnes through a Craigslist ad. They named themselves Mt. Joy as an ode to a mountain in Valley Forge National Park near Sam's childhood home, and together, with Byrnes' roommate Caleb Nelson producing, they recorded three songs and sent them out into the world, hoping for the best. "I knew I still wanted to write songs, but the realities of life made that dream seem pretty impossible," Quinn says.

Much to the band's amazement, "Astrovan" accomplished the impossible. Without initial promotion or fanfare, the song took off on Spotify, racking up 5 million streams to date. "The irony of 'Astrovan' was that song was really about being stuck in a life and wanting to have the opportunity to pursue a dream, and in an instant it gave us that opportunity. " Quinn says. Mt. Joy quickly transitioned from a part-time calling into a full-fledged band rounded out by Byrnes on bass, Sotiris Eliopoulos on drums and Jackie Miclau on keyboard.

Come 2017, Mt. Joy hit the road, and hit it hard: They played tour dates alongside the likes of The Shins, The Head and The Heart, The Lone Bellow, and Whitney, and popped up at some of the summer's biggest festivals, including Bonnaroo, Newport Folk Festival, Lollapalooza and Made In America. "We were put on some big shows very quickly," Quinn says. "The growth for us has been exponential - we've really just become a family that's constantly pushing each other and the live show to be great." They eventually caught the attention of Dualtone Records and began work on their debut album.

Steeped in folk-rock tradition and powered by the intuitive creative connection between Quinn and Cooper, the songs on 'Mt. Joy' depict Quinn wrestling with his own conscience, where the mundane and the fantastic collide as he processes tragedy, society, and love. Opener "I'm Your Wreck" describes "monsters in (the) closet, using up the wi-fi" as it cycles from its desperate, spiraling verses to its swinging, stubbornly optimistic coda, while the loping, plaintive chords of "Younger Days" meditate on a frayed psyche and the fear of choosing the wrong path. "Sheep," with its collapsing, hoarse-voiced cry of "freedom was paid in blood," is a post-Trump salvo on the responsibilities of the fortunate to overcome political and social despondency. And on "Silver Lining," perhaps the album's brightest moment, Quinn surveys the damage of hard drugs and the vicious cycle of addiction, as the song's melancholic sentiment kicks into its fervid, defiant chorus, all shout-along vocals and trilling guitars.

Taken together, the self titled 'Mt. Joy' LP is a startlingly open document, wracked with the anxieties and fears that come just as life seems to start working out. It's a natural reaction from a wary band like Mt. Joy - the result of a sort of professional vertigo, as they've gone from virtual unknowns to hot young commodity in little over a year. But there's a sense of hope underlying everything, girded by the fact that the Mt. Joy LP is an impressive, honest portrayal of a young band facing that moment where dreams become reality, and finding beauty in the exhilarating uncertainty of it all.